© Ron Elkman/USA TODAY Sports

Pearl Jam Invites All Current and Former Drummers to Rock Hall Inductions

By: Maura O'Malley

March 13, 2017

On April 7, Pearl Jam will be inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. But, as is the case with many bands, they’ve changed their lineup over the years, with multiple drummers coming and going. That’s all well and good, but the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame doesn’t always recognize those changing band members when it comes to inductions.

To be inducted at this year’s Rock Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony are both current Pearl Jam drummer, Matt Cameron, and prior drummer Dave Krusen. However, there were three more drummers who won’t be recognized: Dave Abbruzzese, Jack Irons, and Matt Chamberlain.

While this assuredly felt like a snub to all three past drummers, it seemed much heavier for Abbruzzese, who took to Facebook to explain his feelings.

As of this weekend, however, all prior drummers are officially welcome at the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame inductions. Exhibit A: Pearl Jam’s handwritten letter, acknowledging the impact all five drummers have had on the band.

The ceremony takes place April 7 at the Barclays Center in Brooklyn.