LISTEN: Franz Ferdinand Announce New Album 'Always Ascending' & Share Title Track

Catch the song's official video here!

October 25, 2017
Alex Kapranos of Franz Ferdinand


Franz Ferdinand just dropped a whole bunch of news.

First, they’ve got a new album, Always Ascending, on the way, with an expected release date of February 9, 2018. Second, the album’s title track was shared, and you can hear the new jam below. Last, they’re celebrating the announcement by performing in Paris tonight—and streaming the whole thing on Facebook Live today (October 25) at 3:30 PM ET. To celebrate Franz Ferdinand celebrating all of this exciting stuff, we’re streaming the band’s Paris show below.

Whew. That was a lot. Need a breather? Listen to the new, experimental track, “Always Ascending,” and catch its video below!

Always Ascending (track list below) is the band’s first album since 2013’s Right Thoughts, Right Words, Right Action, and based on a conversation frontman Alex Kapranos had with NME, the title track gives listeners an accurate representation of the full album.

1. Always Ascending

2. Lazy Boy

3. Paper Cages

4. Finally

5. The Academy Award

6. Lois Lane

7. Huck And Jim

8. Glimpse of Love

9. Feel the Love Go

10. Slow Don't Kill Me Slow

Franz Ferdinand will tour in support of the forthcoming album beginning December 4 at Seattle’s Showbox Market and ending at Oakland’s Fox Theatre May 17.