Jack White Details Forthcoming Album, 'Boarding House Reach'

White revealed the album artwork, release date, and track listing

January 12, 2018
Jack White

Photo by David James Swanson

Boarding House Reach, Jack White’s first solo album in almost four years, has an official release date of March 23.

JACK WHITE BOARDING HOUSE REACH 03.23.18 Sign up for the ONLY limited edition version of the album as part of #ThirdManVault Package 35 now through January 31st. Link in bio. #thirdmanrecords #jackwhite #jackwhiteiii #thirdmanrecordsvault #boardinghousereach #connectedbylove

A post shared by T H I R D M A N R E C O R D S (@thirdmanrecords) on

A statement on Third Man Records’ site calls this his “most ambitious work thus far,” which doesn’t come as a surprise based on what we just heard of the album on “Connected By Love” and “Respect Commander.”

The album was created in a closed off apartment with “literally no” outside distractions using the same type of equipment White used when he was 15 (think: basic instruments, a low-key mixer, and a tape recorder.) Promising elements of rock, funk, hip-hop, gospel blues, country, and electronics, this album is sure to take fans on a wild ride.

Boarding House Reach track listing:

1. Connected By Love

2. Why Walk a Dog?

3. Corporation

4. Abulia and Akrasia

5. Hypermisophoniac

6. Ice Station Zebra

7. Over and Over and Over

8. Everything You've Ever Learned

9. Respect Commander

10. Ezmerelda Steals The Show

11. Get In The Mind Shaft

12. What's Done Is Done

13. Humoresque